dimpled inspiration

.. daily dose of health and happiness

Healthy Pumpkin Bread for the Holidays

Leave a comment

Anyone watch The Chew? I wish I could more often. I LOVE Daphne Oz. I used to work for a wedding planner and actually worked at her wedding back in 2010! Such a beautiful girl. And amazing healthy cook! Β I know Thanksgiving is Turkey Day, but it’s also all about squash..which means pumpkin! While it’s a day to truly indulge and feed your soul, I have an amazing pumpkin bread recipe modified from a Daphne Oz recipe that will happily fill your belly and ensure you feel great all day!

I’m not one to talk about making you feel lighter, or cutting back calories on the holiday. I just want you to feel GOOD! Inside and out, confident and happy. Feed your belly and feed your soul. Eat your favorite things, have a special beverage, and enjoy your time with everyone!

pumpkin muffins

 

I modified this recipe based on ingredients I had on hand, as well as preferred taste and nutrition preferences. I made these a couple weeks ago and thought they tasted a little dry, but still tasty. About 2 hours later I look in my pantry and see a can of pumpkin… which meant I never opened it and added it to the muffins! Needless to say, we enjoyed pumpkin-less “pumpkin” muffins all week long – my baking history does not have a clean record πŸ˜‰

Here we go!

  • 1 and 1/2 cupsΒ oat flour (grind rolled oats in a fine flour)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

Combine dry ingredients while you melt coconut oil on the stove. In a separate bowl, crack your eggs and beat. Then add wet ingredients, including melted coconut oil. Combine wet to dry and pour into a greased muffin pan or loaf pan – your choice!

Bake at 350 degrees for 18-20 minutes if muffins or 35-40 minutes in a loaf pan.

CHEERS to the start of holiday season! SO excited for Thursday πŸ™‚

  • What food are you most looking forward to onΒ Thanksgiving Day?!
Leave a Reply

