dimpled inspiration

.. daily dose of health and happiness

10 Tips for Inspiration

2 Comments

Wednesday calls for an extra dose of inspiration to get us through the remainder of the week! Whenever I’m in a drab mood, I try (as much as I can) to snap out of it and remind myself not to take life so seriously. It’s all just one big game, you win some, you lose some and that’s totally okay. Of course it’s natural to feel moody from time to time, but when you feel the need to crawl out of that sour place look to the tips below.

Hakuna Matata

Get Outside – It’s amazing what fresh air can do! I worked all day inside yesterday without a cracked window and didn’t head out during my lunch break due to all the rainy weather. By the time 5:30pm rolled around, I was absolute toast! Leaving the windows cracked on the way home really made a huge difference.

Make a Gratitude List – Writing things down is a powerful tool. Think of 3-5 things you are grateful for, maybe something that happened today, maybe something you’re looking forward to, or a certain someone who has recently helped you out. Maybe you’re even grateful for dark chocolate? I sure am! Through positive thinking, you can’t help but lift your mood.

Have a Heart to Heart – Nothing beats a meaningful conversation. I was on Skype for 3 hours on Saturday catching up with a dear friend in Germany. First of all, how cool is that? And secondly, laughing, sharing, understanding, and listening left me with the happiest heart when I hung up. You never know what inspiration may come of it either – I suggested that my friend roll out of bed onto her Pilates mat in the morning instead of fitting it in after school. On Monday she felt inspired to do so and was so happy she did!

Move – Even when you’re so cranky and so tired! Tell yourself that if you don’t feel better after 10 minutes of exercising, you’ll stop. I can guarantee that after the 10 minute period is over, you won’t be ready to stop! Release those endorphins and push any unwanted frustration out in your workout.

Read Inspiring Quotes – Sometimes we need inspiration from outside sources. In this case, head to Pinterest. Maya Angelou is one wise woman! After reading this quote, I immediately snapped out of it!

Maya Angelou Quote

Treat Yourself – Make a mid-week dinner reservation with a friend or have a spontaneous date night. J and I headed out a couple Wednesdays ago for dinner and pumpkin beer instead of the humdrum of recipe, cooking, dishes… We couldn’t have felt more refreshed after treating ourselves to a night out of routine!

Help Somebody – Nothing makes me feel better than knowing I made somebody’s day better. Making someone else feel good will automatically make you feel great in return!

Try a New Recipe – Cooking inspires me! Did you recently pin a healthy dish? Of course you did 😉 It’s time to make it! You’ll be preoccupied with cooking that you won’t have time to think sour thoughts. Better yet, you’ll have a delicious accomplishment at the end!

Sing – Okay, you don’t have to sing, but at least listen to music! Not just any music either…happy music. Listening to sad music when you’re feeling less than inspired isn’t going to get you anywhere. Blast some happy tunes in your apartment or play some calming music through your headphones at work. You’ll be tapping your toes in no time.

Breathe – Trust yourself. If you’re doing the best you can right now, that’s all that matters!

 

CHEERS! 

  • Who else is watching The Voice and thinks Pharrell is the cutest human ever?
2 thoughts on “10 Tips for Inspiration

  1. Very inspiring Paigey!

  2. Made me stop and think — and now I am smiling! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

