dimpled inspiration

.. daily dose of health and happiness

Coconut is the Key Ingredient

Leave a comment

HUMP DAY! Congrats, you made it halfway through the weekday grind!

Today I’m going to share a delicious dinner I created just last night. I guess I really, really wanted coconut because it became the key ingredient that I based the entire recipe on. Have you heard of coconut aminos? I first heard of it after reading the Against All Grain cookbook, in which the author shares her must-have sauces. People who are sensitive to soy, or just don’t want to eat soy products, now have a great tasting alternative! Seriously – it’s a little sweet, a little salty but it represents the ‘soy sauce’ flavor perfectly without the sodium guilt trip. I absolutely love it! I bought mine at my local health food store & will certainly continue to do so.

SO, dinner consisted of coconut crusted haddock, veggies sauteed in coconut aminos, & sweet potatoes baked in coconut oil. I like coconut 😉 Good thing it’s a super food, right?

Preheat that oven of yours to 375 degrees for later. I started off by chopping my veggies. I used:

  • 1 medium head of broccoli
  • 1 yellow pepper
  • 1 small yellow onion
  • 1 small bunch of radishes

I placed them in a large skillet over medium-high with coconut oil of course!

Stir Fry Veggies

NEXT, I scrubbed 3 small to medium sweet potatoes & cut them into cubes. I melted a few tablespoons of coconut oil & mixed them all up before lying them across a large cookie sheet. In the oven they went!

Coconut Sweet Potato

NOW, add several tablespoons of coconut aminos over your veggies. Lower the heat to low-medium, cover, & let the flavors blend.

Coconut Aminos

The fish is the easy part! I figured any white fish would be a great match for coconut, so I chose 1 pound of haddock. I toasted 1/4 cup unsweetened coconut flakes real quick on the stove beforehand! I took the fish to a greased cookie sheet & squeezed juice from 1/2 a lime all over it. Then, I sprinkled the toasted coconut on top. After checking on & stirring up the sweet potatoes (it had been 15 mins) in went the haddock to share the oven for another 15 mins.

Lime & Haddock

The waiting game ensues for 15 minutes.

& THEN.. a yummy, healthy, & balanced meal full of protein, fiber, & delicious carbs.

Coconut Filled Dinner

I suggest you make this ASAP!

CHEERS to coconut, obviously.

Leave a Reply

